Award Winning Books

'17-'18 Sunshine State Young Reader Award Books

Each year, media specialists across the state of Florida come together to choose 15 books they deemed worthy of a Sunshine State Young Reader Award. Click on the blue titles to see a book trailer about the bookStudents in grades 3-5 are encouraged to read these books.

This year's list is as follows

Allie, First at Last Angela Cervantes
Castle Hangnail Ursula Vernon
Framed! James Ponti
The Hero Two Doors Down Sharon Robinson
Night of the Living Worms Dave Coverly
Pugs of the Frozen North Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre
Save Me a Seat Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan
The Vanishing Coin Kate Egan with Mike Lane
A Whole New Ballgame Phil Bildner
The Wild Robot Peter Brown
Willy Maykit in Space Greg Trine
6th-8th grade Sunshine State Young Reader Award books:
Courage for Beginners Karen Harrington
Framed James Ponti
How to (Almost) Ruin Your Summer Taryn Souders
The Mark of the Dragonfly Jaleigh Johnson
Moving Target Christina Diaz Gonzalez
The Nerdy Dozen Jeff Miller
The Nest Kenneth Oppel
Omega City Diana Peterfreund

Randoms David Liss

Shadows of Sherwood Kekla Magoon
The War that Saved My Life Kimberly Brubak Bradley

'17-'18 Junior Sunshine State Young Reader Award

FAME has chosen books for students in grades K-2. This year's titles are:

Douglas, You Need Glasses! by Ged Adamson

Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie

Ada Twist, Scientist by Andra Beaty

Woodpecker Wants a Waffle by Steve Breen

There's a Bear on my Chair by Ross Collins

The Rooster Who Would Not Be Quiet by Carmen Deedy

Storybook Knight by Helen Docherty

We Forgot Brock by Carter Goodrich

Let Me Finish by Minh Le

Ferocious Fluffity by Erica Perl

The Bad Guys by Aaron Blabey

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea by Ben Clanton

March of the Mini Beasts by Ada Hopper

My Pet Human by Yasmin Surovec

My Life in Pictures by Deborah Zemke